My Top 5 Movies Filmed in Hawaii

It’s tough to find a ‘complete’ list of movies filmed ‘on location’ in Hawaii.  However, just off the top of my head, here we go

Honorable Mention:

The Descendents: OK, I haven’t gotten around to seeing this movie but if you’ve been a subscriber to the blog, you’ll know that I read the book.  I can almost guarantee that if I saw this, it would definitely shake things up a bit!

Forgetting Sarah Marshall – Honestly more than the movie,  I thought their social media and billboard marketing campaign they did for the movie was brilliant.  I remember driving in NorCal and seeing funny Sarah Marshall billboards on the side of the road that peaked my interest in the movie.

5.     Pearl Harbor

from google

from google

OK – this one is for my wife . . . . the action on the movie was semi-decent and there was classic Bruckheimer cinematography throughout the entire movie but this could be bumped from my top 5 very quickly . . . .good thing I haven’t seen The Descendents.  🙂

 

4. Jurassic Park

 

800px-jurassic_park_screenshot_41

Remember the first Jurassic Park?  Solid cast . . . good story . . . and great effects.  Man that movie was epic.  “Faster . . . . MUST GO FASTER” and of course, the “Objects in Mirror are Closer than they Appear” . .  .

3.     Soul Surfer

IMG from Google

IMG from Google

My daughter and I spent a few hours together making candy leis for her last day of school and we got this movie. . . . .probably not the best idea since we were heading to HI a few weeks later and she was now afraid to go surfing.  “Hey dad, how many sharks have you seen?  Know anyone who has been bit?”  A little “teeny bopper” for me but great inspirational story – something we can all use a little more of in life. . . just don’t let your nine yr old daughter watch it before going surfing.  🙂

2.     50 First Dates

50 First Dates Image

50 First Dates – Image from Google

Ok honestly, growing up in HI either you are going to laugh at the stereotypes portrayed in the movie or be offended by it.  Personally, I thought Rob Schneider was hilarious!  While I’m not a big Adam Sandler or Drew Barrymore Fan, I did enjoy the movie and it seems many others did as well . . . the movie grossed close to $200M (from wikipedia.org) and had some pretty sweet tunes.

1.   Karate Kid Part II

Daniel San!  Image from Google

Daniel San! Image from Google

The Best of the original Karate Kid Movies even if the Cobra Kai weren’t in it!  I mean seriously, old school Japanese Sensei’s with grudges they’ve held for decades . . . a ‘fight to the death’ . . . a massive hurricane that unites a village . . . .young romance at it’s best. . . .   Plus, awesome quotes such as:

Daniel: “You think you could break a log like that?”

Miyagi: “Don’t know, never been attacked by tree.”

Or what about this one:

 “If I am dreaming, let me never awaken. If I am awake, let me never sleep.”

OK – that’s my list.  Let’s hear your top 5!

7 thoughts on “My Top 5 Movies Filmed in Hawaii

    • Thanks for the comment! We were living on Oahu at the time and one of our friends would go down to Pearl Harbor whenever they were shooting to make sure that none of the birds in the wildlife sanctuary were affected or in danger because of the shoots. I had an opportunity to move back to HI to take a job at one of the resorts where the new Hunger Games Movie, Catching Fire is being filmed . . . . . aaaaahhhh what could have been! 🙂

Leave a Reply

