My Secret Teriyaki Sauce! Don’t Tell!

Honestly, I can make a pretty mean teriyaki marinade.  I even have a ‘healthier’ version where I use agave nectar and lime.  When we had our family on a strict gluten free diet, I also did one with the no-gluten soy sauce (sorry, it’s midnight and I can’t remember the ‘real name’).  However, we were at a friend’s house a few months back and he made some of the best kalbi ribs I’ve EVER had and trust me, if I get the opportunity to order kalbi, I will so I’ve had my fair share of kalbi.

Ah yes!  I CAN'T WAIT!  :)

Ah yes! I CAN’T WAIT! 🙂

When I asked him what he used, I was surprised that he said, “Costco – Mr. Yoshida’s.”  Since then, I’ve been using a mixture of Mr. Yoshida’s and Soy Vay for my teriyaki marinade and quite honestly, it saves me a ton of time and . . . . doesn’t cost much more than if I made it myself.  We hosted a dinner the other night and the chicken was such a hit that, I believe I’m going to be the main (and probably only) cook for a Summer Luau at our church for 100 people.  YIKES!  Since the soy vay is a little pricier, I eyeball how much sauce I used but it’s usually 2/3 Mr. Yoshida’s and 1/3 Soy Vay.  Marinade chicken thighs overnight and either grill or broil them and trust me, you’ll impress!  IT’S THAT EASY!

You can thank me later.  🙂

2 thoughts on “My Secret Teriyaki Sauce! Don’t Tell!

  1. OMG! I am sooooo gonna try this!!! We love Kalbi here too, but haven’t been able to find a sauce (from scratch or otherwise) that we like. I’m all over this recipe. Thank you for Sharing!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

